Pride and Humility

Pride – one of the seven deadly sins.

But wait – I am so full of pride as I watch my children become wonderful, productive, gracious members of society. Both college graduates and filled with optimistic views of the world.
So is it wrong to be proud, since pride is a deadly sin?
Being proud of others can help you to have humility in yourself so I know in my heart it’s not a deadly sin to be proud of others.
What’s more important is our actions to the things we are proud of. Do I move throughout the day talking aimlessly about how wonderful my children are? NO! Do I burst into a room to announce a new achievement they have done? NO!
Do I share good news humbly with those that know and love my children, YES!
Humility is a virtue – it’s the virtue opposite of pride.

I am humbled that the Lord has blessed me with two amazing children. I am proud of who they have become.
I am humbled with all that my family has been given and am proud of how we treat others in Christ.
I am humbled by His grace flowing through all we do and am proud to be a witness of the Good News.

So what are the Seven Deadly Sins and their opposing Heavenly Virtue?
Pride                     Humility
Lust                       Chastity
Gluttony              Temperance
Greed                    Charity
Sloth                     Diligence
Wrath                   Forgiveness
Envy                     Kindness

Take your temperature…where do you lean in your daily walk?

Do you live in an area that is over-indulgent and vain about “keeping up with the neighbors”? Do your children have iPads and cell phones in grade school? Is that what is expected and the norm? Is there really a need? Are we just adding to the stress levels children already feel with their groups of friends – the right clothes to wear…the right technology at hand…the right activity programs…the right group of friends. WHY IS THIS IMPORTANT?

Children can become who God wants them to be if we break down the societal barriers and free ourselves to BE ourselves!
Our children will not remember that Mom was always dressed to the “T”s or we always had the best of everything on our street – they WILL REMEMBER that their parents were in love and treated others with respect and gave freely to those in need and they spent time with them and they will feel LOVE.

Life is not about looking good (by who’s standard) or being the most involved in the neighborhood. It’s about being humble, showing kindness, being charitable, leading a pure life, resisting the temptation of the love of money, forgiving others and LOVING ALL!

Let’s go reach back into our FAITH and balance our life with the Heavenly Virtues – lead by example – LOVE!

Categories: Balance, God | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Pride and Humility

  1. Pingback: Proud As A Peacock « Muse In The Valley

  2. Pingback: Proud As A Peacock | Kim Larocque's Muse In The Valley

You're words inspire me, so please send me your love...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

