Emotional exercise today

Physical exercise can wait – emotional exercise is more important right now.

As I pack up my mother’s home, I lay exhausted and think, “I didn’t even go for a walk today”. I know I got a lot of bending, lifting and moving accomplished but nothing I could really “mark” in my exercise log. Then I thought, STOP – BREATHE – LISTEN

My mind is racing with what else I can get accomplished for my mother before I leave tomorrow, drawers to empty, garbage to pull out, closets to clean—STOP. Then I looked at the corner of my laptop and there it was. I first scanned the time, it’s after midnight, its’ Sunday…then I saw the date. It’s April 17th. Four years ago today, I lost one of the most lovely, fun, giving men in my life. My father was called home after a battle with lymphoma. I miss him everyday. So many at the funeral were kind and honest with their words “It doesn’t get easier, you just get use to it”.  So true those words are. If you have ever lost a loved one you understand them all too well.

I realized I need to take some time, walk his house and say good-bye. Good-bye to the memories he graced my family with at the table, playing cards, learning new games, sharing dinner, laughing…oh how he could laugh. I miss the fishing trips on his boat into the Gulf of Mexico, the sunset at their beach deck and dolphins gracefully swimming in the inlets of the bay, I even miss the times he took me golfing on the most challenging course I’ve even played (don’t go into the ruff for balls, less the alligators see you). Memories. Emotional. Spiritual. Love.

Sunday is a no physical work day – no exercise, no moving, no packing. Today we honor Dad, we say good-bye to the last home he lived in, the home he loved in the winter of his life.

May you all take a moment today and each day to remember our loves ones in a very special way.
May you be blessed with memories that outlive our earthly lives.
May you find peace in knowing you have been loved.
May you enjoy the emotional moments in life.

St. Donald Herbert, pray for us.

Categories: Balance, Gratefulness | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

You're words inspire me, so please send me your love...

Blog at WordPress.com.

