Who do you think you are?

Families…we all have them…argue with them and love them, they are family. It’s been said that we can choose our friends, but we can’t choose our family.

Some families have horrific stories of abused and neglect, some are torn apart by mistrust and miscommunication. Some families put on false images of happiness, respect and love. Families can be close, distant or uninterested. It’s so interesting to me that we can treat strangers better than our families some times. There are people that have a relative that is struggling and say “they should be able to take care of themselves” or “I’m done helping, it’s not my problem” – but will stop to help someone on the street that is in need.

You don’t choose your family. 
They are God’s gift to you, as you are to them. 
~Desmond Tutu

Embrace your family, no matter who they are. They each have gifts and goodness. Find out what they are. You will discover things about yourself in the process.

Our most basic instinct is not for survival but for family. 
Most of us would give our own life for the survival of a family member,
yet we lead our daily life too often as if we take our family for granted. 
~Paul Pearshall

I am realizing this today, as I sit with sore feet, ankles, back and neck. I have come to Florida to move my Mother out of her home that she has sold. Standing on ceramic floors for 12 hours, sorting, organizing, boxing, taping, moving and stacking makes for a long day. But I am not complaining. I enjoy spending time with my Mother, I loved finding the treasures of family history in drawers long forgotten. Closing up a home has much sadness but also much joy. It’s great to have this opportunity to pack my parents house, even if we do so on the 4th anniversary of my father’s passing.  But I am in Florida, so I had to find a little time outside. So, I enjoyed the 2.5 mile walk we were able to sneak in today and I did my yoga routine next to the pool in the sun, stretching out those aching muscles. I am so blessed and fortunate to have a wonderful husband that agreed to come with me and help. Families are so like jewels, they may be rough around the edges, but beautiful to the beholder.

Call you Mother…visit your sister…love your nieces and nephews…
They  molded who you are
They love you whatever may come
They treasure your gifts and are hoping to see you

Categories: Balance, Gratefulness | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Who do you think you are?

  1. Janet – Great Post. And thanks for all you are doing.

You're words inspire me, so please send me your love...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

