The Power of a Story

Have you ever heard a story that you wanted to hear again and never tiring of it?

Maybe I just enjoyed hearing my father tell it, with a few interjections from my mother. Dad always had a twinkle in his eye when he told the story reminiscing about their beginning.

“Dad, tell me how you met Mom?”
I would ask as a child. I asked as a teenager, and I asked as a mother.
My children loved hearing the story and would ask for Dad to tell it to them.
Even while fighting lymphoma, when asked, Dad always got that twinkle in his eye and grin on his face and my mother would smile and say “I can’t believe you still remember”.

Dad’s no longer with us on earth, but today would have been their 53rd Wedding Anniversary. In honor of his memory and the years they shared together, enjoy the story.

“Dad, how did you and Mom meet?”
“I was going to a dance with some friends at 79th and Halsted and saw a group of good-looking girls crossing the street, so I swerved my car to make them jump.” Dad grinned.
Mom jumped in, “That did not impress me, I did not think much of him since he tried to hit us.”
Dad smiles gingerly and continues, “I had dated one of her friends, but your mom caught my eye. When we got inside, I asked her to dance. As we were dancing I told her she put her dress on backwards.”
Mom fluster and annoyed would explain to him the deep v neck belonged in the back, not the front and she was wearing it correctly.
By the end of the dance Dad had asked for her number, which she gave him.
She said “Are you going to write it down?” Dad replied “no, I got it” not even repeating it for her, but he would remember.
Mom walked away from the dance thinking he didn’t remember my number and he is not going to call.

We always knew the best part way coming. We would turn to Dad and say “did you remember her number?” To which he always replied, “WO9-3779” Then my Mom and Dad’s eyes would meet, his twinkling and hers smiling. You could see the love of those two young dancers.

Mom always was amazed that he still remembered the number, but everyone who heard the story and knew Dad, never questioned his love that began with the dance, the dress and the phone number.

Throughout their whole marriage, I loved watching them step onto a dance floor and move as one person always in step together, Dad leading and Mom enjoying the dance. Just like the 49 years they spent dancing in this life. Each time they took to the dance floor it would bring back the memory of their first dance.

Happy 53th Anniversary Mom and Dad – I Love You!!

Categories: Balance | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Power of a Story

  1. Michelle

    This made my day! I love you!

  2. Erin johnston

    Beautiful! Love this story. xo

You're words inspire me, so please send me your love...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

