Crying Babies

A friend has a three month old and we were talking about the sleepless nights (boy do I not miss those!). Then I realized I have the sleepless night, when a teen age child stays out until 1:00 am or a college child doesn’t answer their cell all night. Will I ever get a solid night of rest on a weekend?  We treasure our little ones and cuddle them with love, even when they are crying. Crying because they are hunger, crying because they need a diaper change, crying because they don’t get what they want – mothers have to trust their children are safe and know that sleepless nights come with the territory.

For all the mothers that have crying babies that know there is a light at the end of the tunnel – here’s the truth – it does get better, they start sleeping through the night and for about 10 years you can rest knowing they are in their beds – but then hits sleepovers, clicques, mean girls, stomping tempermental teens, then high school! Enough said!

The sleepless nights you have with new babies can’t compare to the teen-high scool-college years. The only hope we mothers have is prayer – start praying now, when they are children for their safety into adulthood.

A Parent’s Prayer for their children:
Father who has given me these children, and committed them to my charge to bring them up: help me with your grace, that I may be able to fulfill this sacred duty. Teach me both what to give and what to withhold; make me to be gentle, yet firm; considerate and watchful; and grant that, both by word and example, I may be careful to lead them in the ways of wisdom and true piety, so that at last I may, with them, be admitted to our true home in heaven. Amen.

 

Categories: Balance | Leave a comment

Post navigation

You're words inspire me, so please send me your love...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

