The Worst Mother Ever Crown

“Your the worst mother ever” “I don’t want to go to bed!” “I’m not eating that ”

Oh the complaining we hear over the course of the year! Children love to test our patience. Sometimes it can be so challenging that it actually becomes a test of will – and I get determined to win! I know we are suppose to pick our battles, and this is extremely important as our children hit the middle school years, however, when they are smaller, we need to hold firm to the right choices.

I often felt that children knew the best time to be defiant. Like in a public place – the tantrums in the Target and the stubbornness at church.  A friend just this week told me of her 2 year old grandchild that was screaming “I want my mommy.” They were visiting the 2 year old’s mother, who had just delivered her second child. From the hospital room to the parking lot, this beautiful child wanted nothing to do with anyone but mommy. The guilt of the mother hearing her child be carried away, the concern of the grandparents wondering if DCFS will be stopping her in the hallway – and the exhaused child that minutes after getting int he car was laughing and talking away – it’s a balancing act.

I remember my children telling me that I was the worst mother ever – many of my friends also were told this (we fought for the title too). Well I wore my crown with my head held high!  I had earned that award with years of labor, tears, and joy – and I also knew that an hour later, I would be able to switch my crown to the Best Mom Ever.

He who spares the rod hates his son, but he who loves him is careful to discipline him

Proverbs 13:24

Categories: Balance | Leave a comment

Post navigation

You're words inspire me, so please send me your love...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

